Our Beautiful Boulevard

If you have been keeping up with our blog many of you might already know this so bear with me as I bring our new readers up to speed.

My name is Mandi and I am the leasing agent for Renaissance West, located in the beautiful Logan Square neighborhood where many of my fondest childhood memories lay.  I’m pleased to say that this lucky gal is not only living in this great neighborhood again but working here as well.

I wanted to invite you to take a walk with me down memory lane, or in this case it would be more befitting to refer to it as memory boulevard.  One of Logan Square’s many glories is the stunning parade of homes located on historic Logan Boulevard. I would like to share with you all a little of its rich history and my heartfelt connection to this grand avenue.

Chicago wasn’t always the beautiful bustling city that it is today. Our municipal fathers wanted to change that and thanks to Logan Square Preservation I can share with you how they accomplished that goal.

Chicago’s motto, Urbs in Horto (City in a Garden) was adopted soon after Chicago’s incorporation in 1837, establishing an image as the beautiful gateway to the West. First proposed in 1849 (imagine!), this system – consisting of twenty-one boulevard segments, six squares and seven connected parks – began on the South side at the lake in Jackson Park, connected Washington, Sherman, Gage, McKinley, Douglas, Garfield, and Humboldt Parks and ended at Logan Boulevard. This great boulevard system has been called the “Emerald Necklace” of Chicago and is unique to our City. It’s as famous to Chicago as Central Park is to New York.

Logan Square was settled in the early 1900’s by immigrants who came to this country penniless, but established businesses and through hard work made their fortunes. The immigrants who settled in Logan Square were not familiar with traditional architecture, but they remembered the great castles of Europe. Instead of commissioning architects to design pure victorian or classic structures, they selected architectural details in local houses that appealed to them and had many different features incorporated into their homes. For this reason, most of the houses in Logan Square have an “eclectic” architectural appearance, combining different styles under the same roof. This makes them quite unique. 

When I was a child, my mother and I would take strolls down the sidewalks and admire the scenery. That’s where I first fell in love with design and detail. I can’t walk into a Home Depot, a Home Goods, or even a resale shop without running to the crown moulding, tile, hardware, furniture, and fabric aisles in deep admiration of the hard work and creativity put into the products and pieces displayed on their shelves. With the abundance of mass-produced items in our world, great quality and craftsmanship have become such a rarity that it’s hard to know what we should be looking for when shopping for home improvement goodies. I don’t know about you but I gain a new found appreciation for detail every time I pass by Logan’s charming homes – I’m quite certain you would too!

Do take a stroll down lovely Logan Boulevard. You’ll be wowed by the architecture, the ambience, the graceful structures – and you’ll have an amazing day in an exciting Chicago neighborhood.

This entry was posted in Apartments for Rent, Property Spotlight, Studios and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Our Beautiful Boulevard

  1. rennorth says:

    Mandi, this was beatiful and informative. Thanks for sharing.

  2. kmonro says:

    This is an awesome story, makes me want to go to Logan Sq now! thanks Mandi 🙂

Leave a Reply

