Living well IS the best revenge

Hello again, everyone! I hope you all have been enjoying the sunshine (oh, boy have we had lots of sunshine) and the great posts we’ve been putting up. In light of the great workout weather we have been experiencing recently, I thought I’d talk a little about health and wellness and introduce you to one of your neighbors.

One of our superstar residents is a personal trainer and wants to tell you a little about herself so that you’ll better understand the significance and benefits of a healthy lifestyle.

“Hi, my name is Ferah! I wanted to give you all a little inside scoop about myself. I was born and raised in Switzerland, where I first experienced the joy that comes with keeping active. As a child, I joined my friends and we’d head to the hills to slide during the winter months, and swim by the riverbanks during the summer.  While working as a waitress in my teens I found another outlet for my fitness passion as I began training my coworkers on my free time.

Later on in life as an adult battling depression I looked once again to the love of my youth: exercise. I began to work out to meditate and release stress, and during that time I was once again able to take control of my life.” 

Exercising causes your body to release endorphins. Endorphins are chemicals in the body which secrete themselves within the brain and nervous system and work with sedative receptors to release pain. This brings a feeling of well-being (that’s where the term runner’s high is derived). Scientists believe that during strenuous workouts a moderate-to-high level of endorphins is produced, causing an individual to experience this feel-good rush. Like Ferah, you too can be motivated  from the benefits of physical fitness.

It is important to be active in life no matter your age. Ferah recommends thirty minutes of exercise a day, and since she comes across a lot of individuals with lower back issues she suggest a workout move that strengthens that area.  (Let’s face it, we’re all hunched over the computer working or surfing!)

The Superman is a move that helps strengthen your lower back, your arms, legs, rump and abdomen. Steps for a superman:  You don’t have to be super-human to perform this core exercise.

Step 1: Lie face down with your body completely extended, arms parallel to one another and legs straight.

Step 2:
Breathe slowly as you simultaneously lift your arms and legs through a count of 10 seconds.

Step 3:
Hold and squeeze for 2 seconds at the maximum tension point.

Step 4:
Return to the starting position through a count of 10 seconds.

Step 5:
Repeat three times without resting = 1 set.

Step 6: Complete 12-15 sets.

If The Superman don’t sound like super fun to you then try jumping rope, dancing, brisk walks, swimming, or jogging. The Holstein Park pool is just a few blocks away! Anything that keeps your heart rate up will not only help you lose fat and improve your strength, it also aids in creating those feel-good chemicals we discussed.

We all have times where we don’t want to get out of bed, but we have to push ourselves in order to be in a better physical condition and a brighter state of mind. Living at Ren West gives you access to a great fitness center – for FREE! We’ve got cardio equipment just waiting for you, plus plenty of floor exercise space.

If you’re having trouble motivating yourself to use the Fitness Center in the Club Room, perhaps personal training is something to consider. It helps you stay motivated and learn the correct movements, form and technique. Our resident, Ferah, is a certified personal trainer and is willing to help those looking for motivation. She trains in everything from belly dancing to boot camp.

You can contact Ferah at 773-458-5897 or email her at feranaz.star AT gmail DOT com. Isn’t it nice to know that one of your neighbors is a fitness pro?

This entry was posted in Apartments for Rent, Exciting Events, Property Spotlight, Studios and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Living well IS the best revenge

  1. Yolanda says:

    I just started training with Ferah and I love it! Two sessions so far and I feel good and flexible. She is a little power house! Give her a try.

Leave a Reply

