Be Green!!!

El-Cajon-recycling-planet-994x1024 I’ll admit it, one of my biggest problems at home is that I collect all my mail to the side, and then I swear to myself that I’m going to shred it that coming weekend, and I never do. Flash forward to there being about 4 bags of material where I keep telling myself, “this is the weekend I’m going to do all my shredding,” but as mentioned, I don’t seem to get around to it.

I’ve had a printer that hasn’t worked in about a year and a half. I don’t want to just throw it away and have it take up space in a land fill, but I also can’t just throw it in the regular recycling bin at my building. Guh!

Does this sound familiar to you?  paper-recycling

May 11th is the perfect date for me… and those of you at Wicker Park Renaissance that are just like me. From 10 AM to 12 PM on Saturday, May 11th, the Wicker Park-Bucktown Chamber of Commerce will be presenting its Community Shredding and e-Recycling Day in the Jewel/K-Mart parking lot. That’s between Ashland and Milwaukee just a block north of Division, so it’s right around the corner! You can bring all your “boy, do I need to shred THAT” documents to this event and have them destroyed at absolutely no cost to you. Sweet. Who doesn’t like a freebie?

tango_face_glassesNo need to buy a shredder, no need to borrow one from a friend. Just get it all together in a bag or box and bring it down to the Jewel/K-Mart parking lot.

used-cell-phones-for-recyclingWhen it comes to electronics, did you know it officially became illegal to throw out any electronics in a normal fashion in the city of Chicago on January 1, 2012? Um. If you missed that, consider yourself enlightened. Got an old printer, computer, radio, or other small appliance? If you’re like me and have something with a plug or that uses a battery and it just doesn’t work any more, bring it on down.  You’ll not only help your own closet space, but you’ll make a difference with our environment by making sure everything is disposed of properly. After all, the landfills aren’t getting any smaller, you know.

And who knows, maybe I’ll see you there.

This entry was posted in Exciting Events, Property Spotlight, Studios and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

